mr. Jean Paul Gaultier and me …

At a great distance I followed the career of JPG. So I know he made some pieces for celebrities like Madonna. But I was never impressed. When I found out that there was an exhibit of his work in Rotterdam, I wasn’t convinced to go there. Because a friend of mine was very enthusiastic, I went along last Friday. Now I’m a true believer of his work. The man is a real genius!
My absolute favourite was the mermaid dress. Other magnificent pieces you see in this post.

The exhibition ‘The Fashion World of Jean Paul Gaultier: From the Sidewalk to the Catwalk’ is in The Kunsthal Rotterdam (The Netherlands. It is more of a contemporary installation than a retrospective. Over a hundred and forty original creations from the early 1970s to the present day, and from both his haute couture collections and his ready-to-wear lines, can be seen here. Most of these pieces are being exhibited for the first time in the Netherlands
The most amazing were the 30 animated mannequins who talk and sing in playful and poetic vignettes. The exhibit is until 12th of may, so if you’re in the vicinity of Rotterdam you schould go and see this! Further information at http://www.kunsthal.nl.

IMG_4894IMG_4902IMG_4900IMG_4896IMG_4897IMG_4898IMG_4892

Leave a Reply

