NYFW 2013

Dear readers,

I have a suggestion for you fashion lovers!

From September 5 to 12 the city of New York makes way for the Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week event. Many designers are showing their spring 2014 collections here at different spots in the city.

Since a few months I post my looks on Lookbook.nu (@lookbookdotnu). They have an open invitation to participate in a contest. You can win a trip to attend the NYFW with the LOOKBOOK team! They arranged for you to stay at the Dream Hotel Downtown (@dreamdowntown). Yes that’s in the totally hot Meatpacking District! So it’s a total package!

I don’t know about you, but I’m entering the contest!

BTW hurry, you have to enter your look within two days!

Of course I’ve seen many fashion shows at home on my computer. Then I’m experiencing a light tinkling feeling, imagining how it would be like to be a part of it. I’m totally new in attending a fashion show. I don’t know what to expect on a live show. However I can imagine it would be pretty awesome! All people looking and feeling at their best, looking at the finest clothes of my favourite designers in a wonderful ambiance. Getting inspired by the fashion labels I’m not (quite) familiar with. That should be enough to have an uplifting experience!

Like I said in my post ‘Stormy Weather’, I’m, career wise, at a turning point in my life. The last couple of years I’m getting more and more interested in fashion. I still don’t have a clue want I want to do in the fashion business. As a start I have since March this blog, and since mid May I’m posting regularly look on Lookbook.nu. So I think for me this is an excellent stepping stone into the real fashion world!

My favourite designers are (in order of appearance):

BCBGMAXAZRIA (Sept. 5), HERVÉ LÉGER BY MAX AZRIA (Sept. 7), DKNY (Sept. 8),  DIANE VON FURSTENBERG (Sept. 8),  ZAC POSEN (Sept. 8),  MICHAEL KORS (Sept. 11), MILLY BY MICHELLE SMITH (Sept. 11). I have more favourite designers, but they don’t participate in the NYFW, like Mary Katrantzou and Peter Pilotto.

About this look

I’ve read this Net-A-Porter magazine The Edit, issue August 15, about the return of the leopard print, and how timeless it is at the same time. Big fashion labels adopted this print for their latest collections. That was my inspiration for the look. I looked in my closet and put these pieces together. The shoes I bought three years ago, and the dress a year before that.

In a way the (vintage) Cartier bag matches perfectly with the rest, because the male leopard (panther) is their pet animal. On top this bag the animal is captured in the magnificent art-deco style. I bought this bag at Designer-vintage.com a few years back. 

Thank you for watching and best of luck!

Kisses,

Francesca

Dress: Guess by Marciano; body and tights: Wolford; shoes: L.K Bennett; bag: Cartier; sunnies: PradaNYFW1 NYFW2 NYFW3 NYFW4 NYFW5NYFW6

One thought on “NYFW 2013

  1. Pingback: My ship to NYFW 2014 has sailed | contessa francesca di parma

Leave a Reply

