SuperTrash 2 and Step by step how to walk in high heels part 2

Yo visitor!

In my last post I introduced to you my new SuperTrash kick ass ankle boots. At the bottom of this post I show you my more casual, in the sense of less conspicuous,  look with them. And in part 2 of the series Step by step how to walk in high heels: the pros and cons.

In my vacation last June I walked almost every day in high heels for a week. I had never taken the opportunity and believe me, it felt great! Apart from the sore feet at the end of the day of course. But hey that’s all in the game! Since I’m back home I experienced a strange feeling  in one of my feet, like something doesn’t feel right. It comes and goes, most of the times when I’m wearing flats. Then it hit me. I have no clue who’s reading my post about this subject: it could be someone in the age of 10 till 100. I don’t know what goes around in the head of a 12 year old, when I just tell only the pretty things. So I want to clear my conscious by mention also the downside of the story. So in short: the pros and cons of walking in heels.

The pointers below are taken from a comprehensive piece (that needs to be edited) in Wikipedia.

The case against wearing high heels is based almost exclusively on health and practicality reasons,[6] including that they:

Negative effects

  • can cause foot and tendon pain;
  • increase the likelihood of sprains and fractures;
  • make calves look more rigid and sinewy;
  • can shorten the wearer’s stride.
  • can render the wearer unable to run;
  • alter forces at the knee caused by walking in high heels so as to predispose the wearer to degenerative changes in the knee joint;
  • can result after frequent wearing in a higher incidence of degenerative joint disease of the knees. This is because they cause a decrease in the normal rotation of the foot, which puts more rotation stress on the knee.
  • can cause damage to soft floors if they are thin or metal-tipped.

Positive effects

The case for wearing high heels is based almost exclusively on aesthetic reasons, including that they:

  • change the angle of the foot with respect to the lower leg, which accentuates the appearance of calves;
  • change the wearer’s posture, requiring a more upright carriage and altering the gait in what is considered a seductive fashion;
  • make the wearer appear taller;
  • make the legs appear longer;
  • make the foot appear smaller;
  • make the toes appear shorter;
  • make the arches of the feet higher and better defined;
  • according to a single line of research, they may improve the muscle tone of some women’s pelvic floor, thus possibly reducing female incontinence,[7][8][9] although these results have been disputed.[10]
  • offer practical benefits for people of short stature in terms of improving access and using items, e.g. sit upright with feet on floor instead of suspended, reach items on shelves, etc.

Your thoughts: feel free to drop them in the comment section.

The Look

I saw this dress on sale at TheOutnet.com. I loved the print and the price right away. I’ve worn it a couple of times and now I can tell you it feels very comfortable (Mid-weight, stretchy fabric) and soft (95% modal), like a second skin. I’m wearing a size L.

Dress: Tart-Collections; shoes: SuperTrash (figures!); glasses: Prada; tights: Wolford.

SuperTrash2a SuperTrash2b SuperTrash2c SuperTrash2d

Leave a Reply

