The world is my runway: Milano July 2017

Hey Guys!

So much has happens in my life since April concerning my cross-dressing way of life, that I’m completely backed up. So in random order I’ll post what has happened …

This post is about my super awesome trip to Milano in July.

How do I do that: walking in high heels that well?

People still ask me how I can walk in heels that well. For me is that kind of awkward situation, because I still feel like a rookie with much experience. Then I tell them it took me years of training. Up to 4 inches/10 cm heels aren’t much of a problem for me anymore, provided the heels have the right size, are made of a good quality leather and they have to have enough body to secure my feed. So no pumps and heels with only a few tiny straps for me. And over the years I’ve notices a change in my posture. It is difficult to explain how it has changed right now. I guess I could give it more thought and in that perspective I could finish the third and final part of the series I’ve started years ago: ‘Step by step how to walk in high heels’. In part one and two I already have given tips and tricks to prepare for the real work: the walking itself.

And I’m still in training, because I also have heels up to 4.7 inches/12 cm. So I create (more) chances to walk in heels (and a dress) for at least a day. On average I walk in heels once a week. Most of the time it’s on a Friday (my fun day!). Or I’ll plan a tip without my girlfriend. It’s tradition I go every year on a trip to Switzerland and/or northern Italy with my bike (motorcycle).  Then I pack only a few of my favorite heels and dresses, because I can’t take much stuff on my bike. This year went differently.

On a motortrip: yes or no?

On Tuesday night I was ready to go on Thursday, but then I saw the weather forecast for the upcoming week. the weather would be really bad: lots of heavy rain accompanied by an occasional thunderstorm and lightning. So that night I booked a tip to a much nicer place: Milano!

I arranged an apartment for myself, because it was cheaper than a hotel, considering I booked it less than 48 hours prior to my arrival. I’ve picked  this apartment because it is only a few minutes walk to train station Cadorna. This station has a direct connection to Malpensa Airport (within the hour). Traveling by plane meant in my case: stuff my suitcase with as many favorite dresses and heels as possible!  So I brought four pair of my favorite heels (heels of which I knew I could walk in for at least a couple of hours) and a dress for every single day.

Was the change of heart worth it?

This trip was super awesome! The weather and the food was great and above all there were no inhibitions (apart from the usual agreement with my girlfriend: no removal of excessive hairs on my legs) to go all the way in cross-dressing. That felt so liberated! The last time I was in this position, that was in February 2016 in New York. Back then I learned that I should take it easy with the walking: Already on the first day I had blisters at the end of the day, by walking in flats … I now must admit it’s quite a stretch to walk from Central Park to the Angel Orensanz Foundation event space at 172 Norfolk Street (one street down of East 1st Street) (4 miles/6,4 km) . That was the venue of the runway shows of Art Hearts Fashion, during New York Fashion Week. I was asked to help to put the fashion show of House of Byfield on the runway (when everything goes as planned, I’ll be there in September again!).

First day: to settle in and inspect the local runway

I’ve been to many cities and walked there in heels and a dress no problem, but better safe than sorry, so I inspected the local runway on my men’s sneakers and clothes (the only set I had with me) to avoid surprises. It appeared many of the highlights of my trip were in walking distance of my temporary apartment: the Duomo, the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II and the designer shops.  Other sightseeing spots were also in walking distance, within a 3 miles (=5km) radius, when you have all day and can change shoes in between. Yes I know there is public transportation in Milan, but I feel the city better when I explore a city on foot.

But first I unpacked my suitcase at Via San Giovanni sul Muro 5, apartment No 8 …

… and to my surprise I had an apartment with a walk-in closet!  20170630_081255[1]

It turned out the apartment was the perfect spot in many ways. Like I already mentioned, the main attractions and shops were on walking distance, easy connection to the airport and, last but not least, one door up was a fabulous Italian restaurant: Da Puccini. Because it was next door I had to try it and boy what a surprise! Magnificent service provided by the waiters and the food was amazing. I had the Ossobuco twice on two occasions. They had both the same rich taste and they were full of flavor! I’m a fan of this particular dish, so I know what I’m talking about. On another occasion I had a pizza Regina: Excellent as well!! It was a pity they are closed on Sunday, otherwise I definitely would have tried more dishes! Try the deserts as well! And when you ask for il conto (the bill) you get a limoncello like you never tasted before, made by the owner himself!

Second day

When you haven’t seen Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II, the Duomo and shops in the Quadrilatero della Moda, you haven’t been to Milan, so here we go!

Wearing a Just Cavalli dress, Prada glasses, Wolford tights and Casadei booties.

20170630_130214

Shops, shops and more shops in Quadrilatero della Moda …

20170702_184702

Bulgari, my favorite jewelry label (to dream away with^_^).

IMG_20170630_221252_859

As any other human being, my feet aren’t made from concrete. So to avoid the fiasco of New York as I described at the beginning of this post, I had the intention to buy proper and somewhat fashionable sneakers. To my surprise I found such a pair in the first shop I entered and in their first day of sale yeahhh. In the photo below you see me on the Square of Freedom, with my new purchases: the new sneakers and a men’s shirt from Just Cavalli (in the bag). I just changed the heels for the sneakers here. As you can see I shopped at Just Cavalli. I guess I already have three dresses (I’m wearing one of them in this photo and another one on the fourth day) from that label. Now I’ve added a men’s shirt to my collection.

20170701_163518

 

Third day

On this day more (designer) shops and boutiques and also some of the designers outlet stores. It brought me walking all the way to the Uni Credit Tower in the northern part of the city.

IMG_20170702_203344_530

Wearing a Karen Millen dress, Prada glasses, Wolford tights, Oscar de la Renta sandals and Guess bag. If you ask me this combo is the best combo in all the four years I’m on the blog. I’ve bought this dress in New York when I was there during Fashion Week in February 2016. Despite the fact that it was love at first sight (right on the first day in The Big Apple), I wasn’t sure to buy it, because of the price tag. Just a few hours prior to departure I went back. They cut me a very sweet deal: I didn’t have to pay the taxes. First time I negotiated about the price of a dress haha!

The beauty of it is that this is one of a, limited (only available in a few countries and not in the Netherlands), 20 pieces capsule collection inspired by red, the color of celebration and luck in Chinese culture. specially designed in honor of the (Chinese) Lunar New Year. I got the feeling that much good has happened since then …

Which outfit  (of the eight outfits in this post) do you like the most? I value your opinion, so please leave drop a line in the comment box.

20170702_162352

And again the tower of the Uni Credit Bank.

20170702_182005_001.jpg

Fourth day

This was the day with the most walking miles/km: at least 6 miles/10km, to cover the Southwest corner of the city. To be honest this was the only day I’ve put on the heels just for the photo shoot at this pond.

IMG_20170704_090726_818

Wearing a Just Cavalli dress, Prada glasses, Wolford tights, Oscar de la Renta sandals and Guess bag.

 

Fifth day

I was full of all the impressions of the days before, so I did an afternoon stroll through the Parco Sempione to this wonderful Arco della Pace (Arch of Peace).

Wearing a Guess dress and Prada glasses.

Sixth day

This was the day I thought I could do the city without a city plan and sneakers, because I had planned a nice lunch in one of the restaurants in the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II and I had no plans after that. So after lunch I wandered off and ended all the way up at Giardini Pubblici Indro Montanelli (Public Gardens Indro Montanelli). Luckily I had my Google Maps with me and I could make it to my apartment with a case of sore feet but without distress.

20170705_141403

Wearing a Ted Baker dress, Prada glasses, Wolford tights, Ab Donkers booties and Guess bag.

IMG_20170705_213439_987

My travel companion and I having a Tiramisu moment …20170705_160219

How cute is this, man and woman in a flower print …20170707_161823

Even the police is on heels …20170704_131003

Seventh day: a slow day in the park

Because I walked in heels all day long the day before, I took a the time to explore the nearest vicinity of the apartment, like the Parco Sempione.

20170706_184453

Wearing a Diva Catwalk dress, Prada glasses, Wolford tights, Ab Donkers booties and Guess bag. By the way, this timeless dress is still available (in all kinds of colors!): model Lydia or similar, model Nadia.

In the far background the Arco della Pace (Arch of Peace), where I was on the fifth day.

20170706_182702

Eight day: Another luxury shopping day

Today a extensive exploration of the department store La Rinascente Milano was scheduled.  La Rinascente is situated opposite of the Duomo, only a 15 minute walk from the apartment. This particular department store has all the luxury brands in one place. And when you’re getting hungry, you can find a taste for everyone.

IMG_20170707_235353_008

I was in desperate need of another tiramisu at Savini in Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II.

IMG_20170707_234800_044

Wearing RIVS dress, Wolford tights, Casadei booties, Prada glasses, Guess bag.

IMG_20170707_220959_852

Ninth day: Como

I’ve strolled all over the city of Milan to find something special to wear (clothing, heels, jewelry) and so far I only got a decent pair of women’s sneakers and a Just Cavalli men’s shirt. I was disappointed to say the least. After all it is on of THE fashion cities in the world! It probably proves I’m more about style than fashion haha. On the other hand it’s probably for the best I haven’t scored that much. In a few weeks I’m in New York for Fashion Week and that probably will be a burden on my budget. Luckily I have a steady income!

So I was done in Milan and I needed to cool down at a lake (the whole week, temperatures of 86°F/30°C+). I looked at a map of the wider vicinity of Milan. The nearest bigger place at a lake was Como. Turns out it is only a one hour train ride away from Milan. For a unique shopping experience you don’t have to go to Como, but there was live music at the waterfront and delicious food, so I had a swell time on my last day in Italy.

 

Wearing TWINSET dress, Wolford tights, Santoni booties, Prada glasses, Guess bag.

20170708_152651

Thanks for stopping by and take care!

XXX

Francesca.

2 thoughts on “The world is my runway: Milano July 2017

Leave a Reply

